Pollsters, Pundits and Panderers

They all seem to know who is going to get the nomination. Their formulas use every form of math imaginable to man. The scenarios are wilder than remote Alaska. Everybody thinks they have it “figured out”. In the meantime good people from all over this land sit silently by and watch and listen, but just barely.

Then there’s the media. They always have their darlings. And sometimes those names change from month to month. There’s ALWAYS a slanted perspective, even for the network that claims to be “fair and balanced”. They have their favorites too.

But come election day (I early voted) the polls and the pundits don’t matter. They are all revealed for what they really are – panderers. For the truly serious voter what matters is substance, not sound bites. Experience and voting records are magnanimously more crucial than the pettiness of name calling or backbiting.

For the person running, just tell me who you are. Let others who know you also tell me who you are and what you REALLY stand for. Informed American voters vote their conscience. They look beyond the quips and the quirks. They look to the “soul” of the candidate to make their choice.

I was actually undecided before walking into the cubby to cast my vote last week. As I looked at all of the names on the list I felt a little sorry for the people who ran and then bailed. But for the names still left I voted for the one that best represents what I want America to be. My decision wasn’t based on emotion or how good the person appeared to be. I chose them to represent me and the values I embrace.

As this election cycle continues, I trust that others will also put aside what I avoided – the noise – and just do what feels right for you.

For those of who think they’ve got this all figured out with polls or whatever, please just shut it and let people vote.

 

Leave a Reply

